Dream Out Loud!!

makeup1

Now that you know all about me let’s get down to some business. Being a make-up artist in LA is not easy, the constant competition, rigorous market, and of course the scheduling can have anyone going crazy. So of course it was a total shock when i was selected as one of THREE interns to take part in a movie called Dream Out Loud, a short documentary film directed by Juliet Landau and Deverill Weeks on the life of the brilliant make-up artist Kazuhiro Tsuji. EEEEK!!! I was so excited I couldn’t breath, I mean me little miss St. Louis, me, I am going to be interning for a documentary featuring one of the world’s greatest make-up artists. It was, like many things around here, a dream come true!!!

photo (23)

It only got cooler from there, being put on a “street team” was just the beginning of the ride. My top priority was to personally invite every make-up school and make-up company in LA to this once in a life time event. With piles of flyers tucked under our arms, loads of cards bursting from our purse, and smiles bigger than physically possible we started on our ways towards the streets of Los Angeles to cordially invite the best per our request.

photo (24)

As the event was drawing near my blood was pumping faster, the rush of excitement just tickled my bones. Who would I meet? Did we get everything done? Would a lot of people show? All the questions were circling in my mind like a roller coaster or a merry-go-round. It was exhausting but I wouldn’t have traded it for the world, as cliché as that sounds. I was ready for the IMATS and boy was it going to be fun!!!!

photo (25)

It was SHOW TIME!!!! As i arrived at the Pasadena convention Center I was mesmerized by its size. I mean just a few hours from now this place will be crammed with some of the best people in the industry, celebrities, and talent. I took a breath to inhale the sweet smell of my surroundings and then it was time to set things up, someone has to do it and I was more than happy to be a part of every piece of this amazing project.

IMATS_logo

Getting to work with Kazu was the probably the best part of this whole experience, I mean the man can do art like no one can. Working with the director and actress Juliet Landau, formerly on Buffy and Angel, was like a star struck moment. I mean how many people can say hey I worked with someone on BUFFY!!!! Yea sorry Twilight but somebody already did the vampire thing and it was waaaayyyy better. What was interesting to hear was the fact that both Juliet and Deverill believed in the new generation of make-up artist but expected to take risks, to se the bar high, and to explore. It all reminded me of an article I had read in the New York Times about Henny Garfunkel and her fresh intake on photography, her sadness that everything was being ruined by publicists, no one was taking risks, and everything was becoming planned and static.

The event came to an end on Sunday. It was bitter-sweet, exhausted from the whole endeavor, but so overwhelmed with happiness. Now as I sit in my quaint apartment writing this I can’t help but to think what’s next? New challenge and definitely new risks.

0759_LA_LondonSwitchIMATS

Thanks for reading, don’t forget to follow or like to read more,

Ann

*All content is written and edited by Bat-el Miller for more information or to contact Ann don’t forget to visist the website www.makeupbeckette.com

Leave a Reply

